Blog Post

Spending Time with Yourself

I’ve been feeling down lately. I’m a stranger to myself again. I’ve been worrying about a lot of things and forgetting to take care of myself again.

So today I decided to spend time with myself. To have the calmness and sanctuary of being alone.

Most of the time, being alone, specially in public is a scary concept. But I love my time alone. I go to coffee shops alone, go to movies and eat alone on restaurants.

They say if you can do these things, you can do anything. But I don’t think it should be a challenge.

Spending time alone is a chance to be who you are without the expectation of people around you. Spending time alone is knowing yourself, what you want, who you want to be with.

If you can do things on your own, companionship is a choice and not a necessity. If you’re comfortable being alone, you won’t have to tolerate places or people who make you feel otherwise.

Most of the time we base our worth to the people around us. Being alone gives us the freedom to restart ourselves.

When was the last time you feel comfortable being alone? When was the last time you spend time with yourself?

Sometimes, we suffer because we don’t feel at home within ourselves. We feel like a stranger within ourselves.

So face and yourself in a mirror and ask:

How are you? How have you been? Are you okay?

We hope to hear these questions from someone, only to realize we barely ask these to ourselves.

Being alone is a chance and not a challenge to overcome. There’s strength in being comfortable alone with yourself.

So I encourage you to spend a day with yourself. To have me time, to take yourself on a date.

There are times we need to be alone, but it doesn’t we have to be lonely.

Let’s enjoy moments with the comforts of others, but most importantly, within the comforts of ourselves. May you find peace within yourself.

Until then, my love.

Sincerely,

April

2 thoughts on “Spending Time with Yourself”

Leave a comment